Being Cold Does Not Make the Virus Take Hold

I’m introducing a new category called Daily Stupid. It will contain stuff I hear during my days out and about. I had this conversation yesterday…

‘Nyx, I’ve been freezing all day so now I feel a cold coming on.’
‘Being cold does not give you a cold,’ I said without looking up.
‘Uhm… I knew that but… You know, being cold makes the virus take hold.’

What?! You have to be outside naked in minus degrees for a long time before it affects your immune system (though you may or may not freeze to death before that happens). Sometimes I wonder how humanity ever survived. Especially if we fell ill each time we got cold.

Leave a Reply

