Amazing Cancer Research (Not Shit!)

I was surfing the net the other day, looking for some subject to shred. As I did I saw this link to an article about cancer research carried out by Swedish professor and researcher Magnus Essand. Here is a quote from the beginning of the article, written by Alexander Masters:

On the snow-clotted plains of central Sweden where Wotan and Thor, the clamorous gods of magic and death, once held sway, a young, self-deprecating gene therapist has invented a virus that eliminates the type of cancer that killed Steve Jobs.

‘Not “eliminates”! Not “invented”, no!’ interrupts Professor Magnus Essand, panicked, when I Skype him to ask about this explosive achievement.

‘Our results are only in the lab so far, not in humans, and many treatments that work in the lab can turn out to be not so effective in humans. However, adenovirus serotype 5 is a common virus in which we have achieved transcriptional targeting by replacing an endogenous viral promoter sequence by…’

It sounds too kindly of the gods to be true: a virus that eats cancer.

Now, apparently, being Swedish means you are kind (though I think Prof Essand is perhaps just a particularly wonderful person) so Prof Essand and his team have already published their findings in journals so that others can share this knowledge. This means that you can’t patent the virus, which means you can’t make money on it. Meaning nobody will invest in it. So basically it cannot be used at the moment.

This may come as a shock, but I’m a pretty suspicious person so an article generally won’t convince me. Prof Essand works 20 minutes on the train away from me, so I decided to check him out on the Uppsala University website. I found references to the journal articles about this virus, so it’s actually true. I emailed him to make certain, and he confirmed that Mr Masters’ article is correct.

Sooo, people, they basically lack one million pound to make this stuff become reality. Two million to make it outstanding. That’s a lot of money, but not impossible. Uppsala University has one website (<– click the link) where you can donate, and there is also another website (<– click it!) set up connected to them. I will donate, because I have already experienced people close to me suffering from cancer. What if that happens again? If this virus was put in use, who knows how many lives could be saved? So go ahead. I know you’re all dying to buy me gifts for my birthday 23rd December, but instead donate a few pounds to this cause.

Oh and tell your friends. This is too important to go unnoticed.

Leave a Reply

